PKD

I was up at West Point, New York a couple of weeks ago, participating in a conference on transnational organized crime.  I would have preferred it to be a writing workshop, but you can’t have everything.

One evening, I decided to drive over to the Barnes and Noble in Newburgh. As I typically do, I was perusing the Science Fiction section, and to my surprise came cross something new. Well, not new, but new to me. Okay, not new to me, but it was like remembering something I had forgotten, and I was quite embarrassed for my forgetfulness.

I was pleasantly surprised to find a number of books by Philip K. Dick, published by Mariner Press. I already had some of the classics, such as Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? but this new set of volumes by Mariner caught my eye — not the least which was the initials “PKD” on the cover.

I discovered some fantastic titles I hadn’t read before, such as The Simulacra, Counter-Clock World, and VALIS.

This is great stuff.  So of course I asked myself: “Where have I been that I missed all of these great stories?”  I have no idea.

But I can tell you where I will be for the foreseeable future: reading some PKD.

Leave a Reply

